Greetings, from the dark recesses of your long term memory! I’m still alive, and taking a break from flat-out-ness to share this nifty little post – A Web Designers Guide To Colour – from designer Matt Cannon. His simple tips also tie in with a super easy tutorial on customizing your blog colours which I posted here not long ago, so I’ll have no more dreaming of re-designing your blog but not knowing how to do it, thank you! Full links are at the end of this post, but here’s the gist and my thoughts first:

1. No Clashing Colours

Learn from the 80’s… and let them never happen again. White background = no clashing. Not an ironclad rule, but worth remembering if you’re not confident creating a more complex colour scheme.

2. Have Lots Of Colour Co-ordination

Check it out – just two colours in different degrees of saturation can look fantastic.

3. Don’t Use Too Many Colours

Be careful with this. Don’t forget that all those blog badges, those follower widgets and those images in your posts themselves are already going to start clashing. If you must display them, keep your blog’s colour scheme laid back so nothing is competing for the spotlight.

4. Work With Your Photos

Exactly as I mentioned in this HTML tutorial, you can actually color match your links and so-on to your photos. Looks great, and now you see it’s not just me saying that!

Paint.Net Color Window

4. Desaturate

A point I feel is particularly overlooked; desaturation can take your blog from garish to grown-up faster than the speed of white. I’ve included instructions for this in the tutorial, too.

6. Know Your Target Audience

But, if I might add, don’t be afraid to break from the stereotypes of that target either. 

Sounds easy? I thought so too. If you’d like to read more (and you should), you can check out Matt Cannon’s full post, here.

